Like us! on Facebook



Sunday Release

Sept. 18, 2011

For immediate release

Cable, Wis.— Jake Richards (Maplelag) and Martha Flynn Kauth won the men’s and women’s edition of the 2011 Cable CritCross sponsored by Trek.  Richards won on a last lap pass of Joseph Maloney while Flynn Kauth led from start to finish in the four-lap race on a rain-soaked Sunday.

Joseph Maloney, who had the fastest time in the two-lap qualifying round (4:24.2), took the lead and held it until the bell lap when Richards passed him and jumped all of the barriers on the final lap while Maloney dismounted and ran the three obstacles. 

Maloney insisted that dismounting and running was faster.  “I just couldn’t get into my pedals.”  Mason Bacso was third, and Richard’s father Jay (Maplelag) was fourth to give Maplelag riders three of the top four spots. 

Martha Flynn Kauth rode a cyclocross bike to capture her first ever CritCross title over Kari Gatesof Duluth, Minn. and Niki Soderberg of Rochester, Minn.  Flynn Kauth, a former in-line skater from St. Paul, is a relative newcomer to the sport of mountain biking and cyclocross, taking up the sport just two years ago.

In the Rough Stuff Rendezvous, Maria Statz and Gerg Pattison won the timed orienteering race through the woods around Telemark Resort.  In the women’s division, Emily Osowskiof Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. was just four seconds behind Statz, who finished in 1:07:06.4.  Susie McGinnityof Green Bay, Wis. was third.

Gregg Pattison of Lakeville, Minn. captured his first title in 1:06:05.3.  Tom Puzak won a close race for second over Neil Statz.

See for complete results.

Saturday Release

Sept. 17, 2011

For immediate release

Cable, Wis.—Brian Matter (Gear Grinder) won his fourth Chequamegon Fat Tire Festival, becoming the first man to do so in the 29-year history of the race.His time of 2:00:59.9 was nearly two minutes faster than the previous record in 2010.

The Sheboygan, Wis. rider did so despite strong rides from Radioshack and Garmin/Cervelo road professionals Jason McCartney and Christian VandeVelde.“They set the tempo and blew everybody off the back,” said second place Michael Olhesier (Juwi Solar).

McCartney kept the pressure on all race, driving the pace and whittling down the field in the first half of the race.  By mid-point in the 40-mile race, coming out of Martel’s Pothole, it was a five-man race among Matter, McCartney, VandeVelde, Travis Woodruff (Trek) and Alabaman Olheiser.  

By the Seeley Firetower climb the group had lost Woodruff, and with seven miles to go McCartney launched a serious attack.  “I drilled it up a hill and they came back,” he said, “and then (VandeVelde) went.”  The Garmin/Cervelo rider forged a nice gap over the remaining three riders.  “I felt like I was getting onetwoed,” said Matter about the McCartney and VandeVelde attacks.

But it wasn’t to be VandeVelde’s day.  According to Matter, the chasing riders rounded a corner a mile or so later, and there was VandeVelde with a flat rear tire. 

Of the three left, Matter easily won the sprint over Olheiser and a cramping Jason McCartney, who crossed the line 20 seconds behind Matter. Matter first won his first race in 2004 and followed with wins the last three consecutive years.

The women’s race was decided by a mud puddle. Jenna Rinehart (Specialized) got off to a quick start and established an early lead, looking as though she would follow Matter and also grab her fourth title.  But 2008 champion Lea Davison (Specialized) worked her way up to Rinehart as the two approached Lake Helane.  “There’s only one mud puddle on the entire course, and I went through the middle of it,” Davison said.

According to the Vermont rider, the mud was over her hubs but somehow she made it through upright.  Rinehart didn’t fare as well, however.  She bobbled, stopped and had to put her foot down in the muck. She never saw Davison again, who put nearly four minutes into Rinehart, finishing in 2:17:31.  Rebecca Sauber(Trek 29er) nipped Diana McFadden (Trek Co-op) for third.

Jordan Cullen of Hudson, Wis. destroyed the men’s Short & Fat field, finishing in 48:41.6.  He topped Ian Haupt of Whitefish Bay, Wis. by almost four minutes.  Nathan Labecki of Milwaukee was third.

The women’s Short & Fat race was a close one as Anna Ganju bested Terra James by six seconds.  Ganju finished in 58:07.1.  Jeanne Fleck was third.

Brain and Kim Eppen(Mercy/Specialized) continued to dominate the Chequamegon 40 tandem race.  The Iowa City, Iowa couple finished in 2:08:05.1, good for thirteenth overall.
Trek Bikes